Third countries whose nationals or specific categories of such third country nationals who are subject to prior consultation

Under Article 22 of the Visa Code, a Member State may require the central authorities of other Member States to consult its central authorities during the examination of Schengen visa applications lodged by nationals of specific third countries or specific categories of such nationals. Such consultation does not apply to applications for airport transit visas. The table below lists the third countries and the specific categories concerned. When a third country is listed it means that at least one Member State requires such prior consultation.

Third countries	Specific categories concerned, if applicable
Afghanistan	
Algeria	
Azerbaijan	
Bangladesh	
Belarus	Applies only to holders of service and non- biometric passports
D.R. Congo	
Egypt	Does not apply to holders of diplomatic and service passports
Eritrea	
Ethiopia	
Iran	
Iraq	
Jordan	
Kazakhstan	Does not apply to holders of diplomatic passports
Kenya	
Kirgizstan	
(North) Korea	
Kuwait	
Lebanon	
Libya	
Maldives	
Mali	
Mauritania	
Morocco	
Niger	
Nigeria	
Pakistan	
Palestine	This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue
Russian Federation	

Rwanda	
Qatar	
Saudi Arabia	
Somalia	
South Sudan	
Sri Lanka	
Sudan	
Syria	
Tajikistan	
Tunisia	
Turkmenistan	
Uzbekistan	
Vietnam	
Yemen	
Refugees	
Stateless Persons	