In order to ensure the highest quality of our services, we use small files called cookies. When using our website, the cookie files are downloaded onto your device. You can change the settings of your browser at any time. In addition, your use of our website is tantamount to your consent to the processing of your personal data provided by electronic means.

We know the finalists of the Popularizer of Science 2018 competition


22 candidates advanced to the finals of the Popularizer of Science 2018 competition. We will systematically present the finalists on the Science in Poland website. Who will receive the awards? We will find out during the competition gala in January.

Keyboard featured the word IDEA.

140 candidates entered this year`s 14th edition of the Popularizer of Science competition. Their number is record-high! The competition in the finals will be fierce. During the gala on January 7 in Warsaw we will find out which finalists will receive the awards. The winners in the final categories will be awarded: Scientist, Animator, Team, Institution, Media, as well as the Grand Prize winner - the person who will receive the title of Popularizer of Science 2018. In addition, the editorial team of PAP - Science and Scholarship in Poland will additionally grant special Tomasz Trzciński Award for benchmark information policy.

Although only a few finalists will receive the Popularizer of Science diplomas and statuettes, the real winners of the competition are all those involved in reliable dissemination of knowledge. To emphasise the importance of the work of science promoters, we will systematically present the profiles of all finalists at PAP - Science in Poland. It will give our readers an opportunity to learn about the achievements of candidates; read about their great ideas for promoting science and proven, good practices. We hope that the stories of our finalists will inspire many others.

The list of this year`s finalists (alphabetical order):

Category: Scientist

Paweł Janowski

Jacek Kusznier

Piotr Rzymski

Ryszard Tadeusiewicz

Aleksandra Ziembińska-Buczyńska

Category: Animator

Dariusz Aksamit

Dariusz Halabowski

Mateusz Kęsy

Dariusz Maliszewski

Dawid Myśliwiec

Category: Team

SIGNUM Centre for the Popularisation of Mathematics

Heweliusze Nauki (Heveliuses of Science)

Koło Miłośników Języka Papillon (Language Enthusiasts Club Papillon)

The creators of the Polish-language Wikipedii

Category: Institution

Centrum Nowoczesności Młyn Wiedzy (Modernity Centre "Mill of Knowledge")

Młodzieżowe Obserwatorium Astronomiczne im. Kazimierza Kordylewskiego w Niepołomicach (Kazimierz Kordylewski Youth Astronomical Observatory in Niepołomice)

Stowarzyszenie Rzecznicy Nauki (The Spokesmen of Science)

Category: Media

Łukasz Badowski

Radek Brzózka

Piotr Kosek

Paulina Łopatniuk

Jan Stradowski

The finalists were selected in a vote by the Jury composed of winners and special award laureates in the earlier editions of the competition: Dr Piotr Sułkowski from the University of Warsaw (known from the project "Ask the Physicist"), Prof. Wojciech Dindorf - retired teacher who has been promoting science for over 65 years, Dr. Magdalena Osial from the University of Warsaw (author of the project "Workshop of Scientists, the University of All Ages"), Michał Szydłowski (who makes scientific presentations for schools and scientific festivals as Mr. Cork), Dr. Ireneusz Kaługa from the EcoLogical Group, Iwona Kieda representing the Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Olsztyn; Prof. Andrzej Katunin, who popularises fractal geometry and Dr. Jan Świerkowski - leader of the B61 Institute, which promotes science by combining the work of artists and researchers.

"No matriculation essay (...) among the thousands that I have graded was associated with as many dilemmas as each of these 140 cases" - Prof. Wojciech Dindorf summarized the difficulties associated with selecting the finalists from among numerous candidates.

Prof. Andrzej Katunin, in turn, paid attention to the originality - of both promoted scientific disciplines and methods of reaching the audience. "In this edition we have plenty of both" - he said.

"I have observed a very positive trend among institutions that promote science: in addition to institutions created mainly to promote, there are also those, for which popularisation is not the primary or only activity, and yet they promote successfully and with great passion" - commented the juror.

He also noted that Polish science promoters more often publish books now: "I watch the anchoring of Polish popular-science book in the country and abroad with great pleasure".

The winners of the title of Popularizer of Science 2018 and the statuette of this year`s edition of the competition will be selected by the jury, whose members are: Prof. Michał Kleiber (chairman) - one of the initiators of the competition, a longtime president of the Polish Academy of Sciences, former Minister of Science and Information Technology; Prof. Magdalena Fikus - promoter of science, co-organizer of the Warsaw Science Festival; Robert Firmhofer - director of the Copernicus Science Centre, ed. Krzysztof Michalski - science journalist of Polish Radio, Dr. Robert Mysłajek - promoter of natural sciences and winner in the 2016 edition of the competition, as well as representatives of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education and PAP - Science in Poland.

The competition "Popularizer of Science", organised since 2005 by PAP - Science in Poland in cooperation with the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, is the oldest and most prestigious competition in Poland, which awards scholars, media people, institutions and social activists, whose passion is to share knowledge and uncover the mysteries of modern science for those not associated with the academic community.

PAP - Science in Poland