In order to ensure the highest quality of our services, we use small files called cookies. When using our website, the cookie files are downloaded onto your device. You can change the settings of your browser at any time. In addition, your use of our website is tantamount to your consent to the processing of your personal data provided by electronic means.

Joint Statement of the Foreign Ministers on the EU commitment to the Western Balkans’ European integration


Foreign Ministers of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, Hungary, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Italian Republic, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Slovenia, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic called upon the Members of the Council to take decision on opening negotiations with the Republic of Albania and the Republic of North Macedonia in June 2019.

Budynek Rady

Recalling the General Affairs Council Conclusions of June 2018 that reaffirmed the EU's commitment to the enlargement process and given the progress made by the Republic of Albania and the Republic of North Macedonia in implementation of internal reforms and fostering good-neighbourly relations, the Foreign Ministers called upon the EU Member States to fulfil their commitment to the Western Balkans European integration and to take decisions on opening negotiations with both countries.


MFA Press Office


Full text of the Statement
Joint​_Statement​_on​_the​_EU​_commitment​_to​_the​_Western​_Balkans’​_European​_in.docx 0.02MB